A Diagnosis Can Be A Good Thing

September is PCOS Awareness Month.

If you look online for a definition of PCOS, you will see things like:

GirlsHealth.gov

Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) is a common hormone imbalance that affects about 1 in 10 women. Girls as young as 11 can get PCOS.

UCLA.edu

Polycystic ovary syndrome is the most common hormone abnormality of reproductive-aged women, occurring in up to 10% of such individuals. It is characterized by overproduction of the androgen testosterone, menstrual abnormalities when ovulation does not occur and enlarged ovaries containing multiple small follicles (polycystic ovaries).

WebMD.com

Polycystic ovary syndrome, or PCOS, is a hormonal condition. In women who have it, it can affect your ability to have a child (fertility).

MayoClinic.org

Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) is a hormonal disorder common among women of reproductive age. Women with PCOS may have infrequent or prolonged menstrual periods or excess male hormone (androgen) levels. The ovaries may develop numerous small collections of fluid (follicles) and fail to regularly release eggs.

PCOSChallenge.org

PCOS Awareness Symposium 2016

http://www.pcoschallenge.org/symposium | The PCOS Awareness Symposium presented by PCOS Challenge, Inc. and Thomas Jefferson University features world leading experts on Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. Presentations cover PCOS research updates; fertility; nutrition; emotional wellness; prevention of cardiovascular disease and diabetes in women with PCOS; and more. This event brings together clinicians, researchers, hundreds of women with PCOS and their supporters for a day of sharing experiences, insights and the latest updates about Polycystic Ovary Syndrome.

 

PCOS and Me

In 2009, I was diagnosed with PCOS after a year of unsuccessfully trying to start our family. My doctor determined I had PCOS because I have severe acne, irregular periods (anywhere from 30 days to 90 days!), and, after doing an ultrasound, numerous cysts on both of my ovaries.


I didn’t know I had PCOS until I was almost 26 years old!

I didn’t know I had PCOS until I was unable to become pregnant after trying for over a year!

I didn’t know I had PCOS , but I’m glad I know now!!!


I’m glad I know because there are things that I can do to help reduce the symptoms.

I’m glad I know because I have met so many women with the same diagnosis who have been successful at becoming mothers!

I’m glad I know because it explains so many things that are going on in my body that I used to think were my fault and not fix-able!


If you have been diagnosed with PCOS, please know that there is still HOPE. And, there is help! Here are some resources that I have found and am currently using to implement positive changes in my life to help with my symptoms:

A FREE 30 Day PCOS Diet Challenge

This is a great resource because it’s not just about saying eat this, or don’t eat that. Kym Campbell does an AMAZING job of explaining the WHY behind each of her recommendations! And, there’s a private Facebook group for accountability and support during the challenge!

PCOS Diva

Amy Medling recently wrote a book called “Healing PCOS: A 21-Day Plan for Reclaiming Your Health and Life with Polycystic Ovary Syndrome” and it doesn’t just focus on what to eat, but it also focuses on changing your mindset to include self-care as well as helping you change how you view food and its affects on your hormones.

Waiting For Baby Bird Private Facebook Group

OK, this one isn’t PCOS-specific, but the beautiful woman who created the group also has a PCOS diagnosis. She offers faith-filled hope and encouragement every day to help women who are facing delayed fertility.


Honestly, it’s groups like the Waiting for Baby Bird one, and the 30 Day PCOS Diet Challenge one that keep me on Facebook. 🙂 The support and encouragement that come from being able to talk with women who truly understand what you are going through is incredible!

As a final note, here is a great video created by PCOSChallenge.org with some words of encouragement and advice from other PCOS-cysters. 💜💜

 

Leave a comment